“Let it go, Isaac,” Uncle Ned said.  “Just steer the boat.”

“What?” Isaac replied, looking up from the Radar screen.

“Relax.  Stop fussing.  Do what you need to do, set up the equipment, then let it go.  Let go and let God.”

Isaac looked back at the Radar and changed the range again.  “Let God?  What is that supposed to mean?”

“Trust God to take care of you.”  Uncle Ned looked pretty tired.

“I don’t believe in God,” Isaac answered.  I think he does, sort of, but Isaac always  argues.

Uncle Ned leaned his shoulder against the teak door frame.  “Then hope for good luck,” he said.

This time Isaac stopped fussing, sat us straight and gave Uncle Ned a blank look.  “So God and luck are the same thing?”  I wanted to punch him in the face.

Uncle Ned pulled off his hat and ran his hand through his hair, then put his hat back on.  Then he took his hat off again. “Look out for each other,” he said. “I need sleep.  Don’t run into anything.”  Then he ducked into his cabin and closed the door.

from Jimi & Isaac 2a: Keystone Species.  – Phil Rink  (still not even written yet).

So anyone that’s tried to talk to me since April knows I’ve been pretty consumed by getting the boat together.  For the most part, it worked.  The boat seems fine.  But I forgot to get myself ready.

When we passed Neah Bay and turned south, and the sun set, and Nancy went to bed while I took the first watch, I was pretty freaked out.  I was totally not ready to trust the 40 year old tupperware and the brand new bolt collections.  The heavy fog, with zero visibility and bone-chilling cold, didn’t help.

Nancy, however, was and is in the zone.  Hot meals, warm clothes, planning the route, keeping situational awareness, and making sure I get plenty of sleep, even if that means she keeps a midnight to six watch like she did that first night.

After two nights at sea I’m doing much better, and Nancy is completely comfortable.  We’ll probably stay out one more night and tuck into Coos Bay for a few days to wait for better weather to round Cape Blanco and Mendicino.  Plans are subject to change.

We show up on marinetraffic.com now, mostly.  The Washington Coast was pretty bare for AIS stations.

And now a word from our sponsor:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZnDt2wEFjk

