Tags

, , , , ,

Nancy got invited to a party and took me as her date. Sweet.  I was talking to a prominent Architectural Writer from Britain, and I mentioned that I loved the public art in Mexico. Compared to the US, the art here is fearless and bright and aspirational and everything you would want. Let’s see if you agree with me.  Click on the pictures to see a bigger version.

P1000055
This is the Malecon: seawall drive.  It runs the length of La Paz.  At night, especially on weekends, it’s full of families. Chock full. Kids on bikes, Grandma and Grandpa, teenagers shaking off childhood.  Full.

P1000056
These are the trashcans on the Malecon.  Disney, I know.  But they’ve been there for ten years and they’re not wrecked.

Let’s get to the art.  There are many large bronze sculptures along the Malecon.  Here’s a few:

P1000065P1000071

P1000070
The Old Man and the Sea.
I have a paper boat…
It’s made of a page
on which I write my hopes.
It has no anchors nor mooring lines.
In it, I want to sail the seven seas;
In the eighth,
I know I will eagerly run aground in port.

Have you seen the brilliant light of your lighthouse?

– Guillermo Gomez Mac. 2004
(My translation, please correct me)

 P1000075
Yawn.  By the way, if there’s any conch around here we’ve never seen or heard of it.

P1000080
Wyland.  And Wyland turtles.  Woop de doo.

But just up the alley…
P1000088
I wish the background was better.  La Paz is under construction.  Have you ever, ever seen a happier piece of art?

P1000082
I could watch these two all day.

P1000083
He’s a little brassy, don’t you think?  But he knows how to make that shell rock.

This next few are in an alley on the front of Tamal art gallery.  Just look at the art:

P1000089

P1000090

P1000091
These are canned spray paints and oil house paint on stucco.  The top one was done while we’ve been in town.  They’re more stunning in person.

I saved the best for last.  Try and figure out why I like this bronze.P1000058

P1000063
It’s maybe 150% life-size.  Seriously, can you imagine this in an American public place?  Stunning.  Crazy, mind-blowing beautiful.

